Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 1st, 2010

Happy hump-day! (actually, it’s my Thursday since I’m taking Friday off – hooray!) 🙂

And, I’ve decided that I’m officially over summer. I’m done with these obnoxious temps, fo shiz – 96 degrees in September just should not happen.

Did I say September?

(66 days…)

So, weather Gods, please bring on fall, complete with colored leaves, sweaters, boots, pumpkin-flavored things, apples, scarves and COOL WEATHER. Thanks.

This morning’s run was early and sweaty, but thankfully Megan kept me good company 🙂  The conversation definitely made it well worth it – that’s 8.5 easy miles in the books.

The appetite is kicking into high gear again, and I ravenously devoured breakfast post-stretching/core work/shower. 

The usual cereal – TJ’s High Fiber with Fruit & Nuts/Nature’s Path Heritage flakes with organic raspberries and almond milk.

And unpictured coffee, of course!

My day involved work and more marveling at the amazing Eataly. Don’t worry – a full post is coming soon! Here is one shot to entice you in the meantime…

Did someone say carbs? 🙂

Per usual lately, I made some weekday dinners ahead of time (on Sunday) so I wouldn’t have to cook at night. I’ve got a short, busy work-week, so not worrying about dinner is a definite plus!

I used a some of the produce scored at a recent trip to the Union Square Greenmarket, as well as some other veg from Whole Foods, some ground turkey breast and quinoa.

Green beans, bell peppers, onion, eggplant, zucchini and broccoli, to name a few!

I threw everything in a fry pan with a smidge of olive oil.

Chopped up some gorgeous local, organic grape tomatoes

And separated everything into Tupperware (the quinoa is at the bottom!)

Threw in some leftover roasted beets for good measure…

And voila!

Now that it’s September, it is officially the “Monster Month” for marathon training (well, for those training for NYCM or another fall ‘thon). This is the month when mileage is ramped up and serious work is done. Looking at my training plan (which I’ve tweaked and updated multiple times this week…ahh!), it’s going to be a tough one. 

Since my number one goal is to get to the starting and finish lines uninjured, here’s my Monster Month plan:

  • Make easy runs truly easy, which for me is around 9:20 – 9:35/mile pace
  • Stretch – I stretch before and after each run, as well as multiple times per day. This is SO important for me, or else the leggies get really tight
  • Foam roll – I do this as much as I stretch to keep things loose (I’m talkin’ to you, IT bands!)
  • Ice – I ice various aches and pains daily to aid in recovery and reduce inflammation, even at work with a little ziplock bag full of ice
  • Listen to my body – if something hurts, I plan to be extra cautious and swap running days for rest or XT when needed
  • Fuel/refuel correctly – bring it, carbs!

This section on the Runner’s World website has a lot of great articles about the Monster Month and marathon prep – check it out!

Question: Any more tips on staying healthy while ramping up the miles?

Read Full Post »